After the after party.

20160202_185304Well, last night was the long anticipated book launch event. I was as terrified and nervous as I was, excited. I needn’t have been the first two.  It was well attended and we’ll received and I breathed a sigh of relief as I stood to begin my talk, that the room was full of eager faces and no spare seats were in sight. It had been a long long time since I’d stood in front of so many people to read, but I don’t think many noticed the tremor in my voice in the first few chapters and after that, I began to relax into it a little. The applause I received was very flattering and the genuine looks of excitement as I signed books really touched me and hearing people tell me how much they loved the reading and how they were excited to read the rest, was truly the icing on the cake. From my perspective it couldn’t have gone much better. 20160105_143007

Once the venue had cleared and my breathing had returned to normal, we thanked the event manager and left. I was joined by a few close friends and the after party ensued. Gentle and more subdued than in my youth but to be relaxing among friends who were genuinely pleased for me was truly emotional.

It may sound melodramatic, but for me this had been a big important step. A day I will remember to the day I die.

Leave a Reply

