Life turns on a dime!

Forgive me for quoting Stephen King in the title of this blog but it just seems so apt for me at the moment. I’m not going to go onto a rant about how crap life can be or the curve balls it throws you at the most inappropriate times, quite the opposite; this has not been a great year for my family really (despite my finally becoming a published writer) but recently my mother has become ill with myeloma and although this has increased stress levels and given me more thongs that need sorting, it has also put things in perspective and boosted my motivation to pull out the thumb I have had firmly stuck in my butt and get all these things done, procrastination is no longer an option so I am gladly grabbing the bull by the horns and turning all our lives around! I’ve always been a go with the flow kind of guy but sometimes a little rudder can make a big difference and right now I feel I can no longer tell myself “what will be will be”. I still firmly believe that everything happens for a reason, but sometimes that reason is to prod you into action, not merely submit to the will of the universe (or God or whoever/whatever your beliefs are). In view of that, I can now see all these bad things that have happened, and are still happening, to my family are actually the key to making things better. To quote another writer, Richard Bach, “you are never given a problem without also being given the tools to deal with it.” So although things are not in the best of shape at the moment, I am in the best frame of mind I’ve been for a long time and moving things forward at a pace. My writing is still very important to me but it has had to take it’s place in the grand scale of what is going on. I have admitted defeat in getting my collection of short stories out in time for halloween, but all being well they should be ready for a Christmas release. My novel will proceed at it’s own pace and I’m aiming for next halloween to publish that. In the meantime, my thoughts and main focus are in an obvious place and I thank you for the sentiments and offers of support I’ve had; it’s been a help and a comfort to know that in this world of “me first” there are still a plethora of those who actually give a damn and (you know who you are) you have restored my faith in people! I’ll still keep blogging and writing and I’ll be posting links on here soon for my halloween giveaway. Thank you for listening to my rant (after promising I wouldn’t!) I’ll see you back here soon. 🙂  x

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

